1949 NCAA Tournament

Following the 1948 NCAA Tournament, the 1949 NCAA Tournament still consisted of 8 teams. Kentucky took on Villanova in the East Quarterfinals and the defeated them 85-72. The other teams were Illinois and Yale, Illinois would go on to defeat Yale 71-67. Kentucky defeated Illinois 76-47 advancing to the national title game.

In the West Regional you had Oklahoma A &M taking on Wyoming, they defeated them by just a point, 40-39 and Oregon State took on Arkansas, OSU would defeat the Razorbacks 56-38. Oklahoma A &M defeated Oregon State 55-30.

The Kentucky Wildcats defeated Oklahoma A &M 46-36 to win their 2nd national title. Alex Groza ws the MOP and scored a total of 82 points.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s